In this Article:
Review Queues are a way to hold users and orders you are unsure about so they can be manually reviewed by your analysts. Review Queues are an efficient way to manage your manual review process as they are completely customizable – giving you both scalability and flexibility.
When analysts look at Review Queues, all the information they need to make a Decision is available to them. After a Decision is made, the queue automatically advances to the next item available for review.
Fraud analysts can select multiple queue cases and apply a decision in a few clicks—accelerating queue processing times.
Also, your team can decision a case right from the Review table by choosing the necessary decision in the dropdown of the Latest Decision column.
Bulk Decision functionality is currently available in the Review tab: All Queues, Holds, and Escalations (see below for more details on these types of queues), and access to the functionality is managed by the “Make bulk decisions” permission. It's enabled for all Sift default roles.
Queues contain various details within the list view that allow analysts to quickly see important details for cases in the queue. The columns that appear in the default view can be sorted, removed, or added to ensure that analysts only see what they need when reviewing several cases at a time.
Sorting enables users to focus on the most important data for decision making. Certain columns can't be sorted due to the dynamic nature of their data, these include:
- Latest Decision
- Latest Decision Source
- Claimed By
The queue sort order remains the same even if the user starts a queue review by clicking the “Start Review” button.
Adding, Removing, and Arranging Columns
Analysts can also hide, show, and re-order columns to suit their needs. This helps analysts focus on the columns that matter most. Users can configure columns in the queue by clicking the “Edit Columns” button (permission required).
The changes made within a specific queue are stored at the organization level which means the queue will look the same to any user within an organization. Note that “ID” is a reserved column and can’t be removed from the queue.
Queue columns configuration is managed by “Edit Review Queue Configuration” permission. By default, it's enabled for Manager and Administrator roles.
The column management functionality is available in Review Queues, Escalations, and Holds (see below for more details on these types of queues).
Claiming Queue Items
The smart claim feature provides a seamless experience for teams that have multiple analysts reviewing in the same queue. Analysts claim queue items as their own and, as they work through them, are automatically served the next unclaimed item. This prevents analysts from colliding with each other while they review.
Smart claim works without any extra effort: when an analyst clicks into a queue item, it is claimed. The queue overview page will reflect which analyst claimed the item, so other analysts know it is being investigated. This queue item will not be served to other analysts until it has been Decisioned, Escalated, closed, or if the analyst has had the item open for more than 60 minutes.
Smart claims also enable easy collaboration: while an analyst is viewing a queue item, other analysts can still view it clicking into it directly from the main Review landing page. Any analyst viewing the item can make a Decision. You will see any other analysts viewing the queue item in the “also viewing” section in the left side bar.
What happens if I accidentally leave a queue item claimed?
If an analyst views a queue item for more than an hour, we consider the review inactive. We will automatically re-direct the analyst back to the Review landing page, releasing the claim so other analysts will be served this queue item.
How do I release a claim on a queue item?
Once you start viewing a queue item, you can release it several ways:
- Navigating away from the page
- Closing your browser
- Losing internet connectivity for 2 minutes
- Viewing the user for more than an hour - at this point we will consider you inactive
- Making a review Decision
- Escalating the review to another queue
Can I review multiple queue items at a time?
You can pause a review and start another one by leaving the first queue item open and opening a second user in another tab from the Review Landing page.
When you create a Queue, you can also set up an escalation queue, so that tricky cases can be easily escalated to senior analysts. Escalation Queues function just like normal queues,
Queues that are allowed to Escalate will have a White "Escalate" button below the Decision buttons, and will be organized on the Queue page under their own section.
By default, Queue items are prioritized by the time remaining in the queue. Your admin can change this in the Workflow configuration for that queue, to choose to additionally prioritize queue items either by Order Amount, Sift Score, or a combination of the two.
This queue is prioritized to review high users with high sift scores first, then review high order amounts
Note: If you prioritize a queue by Sift Score, we will prioritize by the score of the event when it was queued, if the user has more activity that changes the score of the event, the priority of the queue item will not automatically update. However all data displayed in queues represents the most recent data, including re-scores and subsequent activity.
Managing Review Volume
When you create a Queue, you also have to set the Maximum time in Queue, up to 7 days. If an item is waiting for review for longer than this time, we will clear it out with an automated Decision. This ensures that even when your review volume is larger than expected, you won't leave users in limbo for more than your set time.
Whether you decide to automatically block, watch, or accept users that hit this threshold depends on the risk level of that review queue. For very high risk items, you might want to auto decide with a Block Decision, for medium and normal risk queues it probably makes more sense to automatically accept the user if you can manually review in time.
Creating a Queue
Review Queues are configured in Workflows by admins. This is where you set what event users are reviewed at, what Decisions are available in each Queue, and which types of users should be routed to each queue. It also is where you can configure escalation queues and Max Time in queue.
Queue holds can be used to extend the lifetime of an item in review, so analysts can get additional information required for customers.
Fraud managers can enable holds and configure time in hold within the Queue configuration setup in Workflows.
Once configured, a “Hold” button will appear as a decision option during manual review. This puts the case into a Held cases queue which can be revisited upon receiving information needed to make a final decision.
Unlike other queues, hold queues are not auto-serving. Each held case would need to be individually selected from the Held Cases queues.
When a held item reaches its designated time limit, it moves to “Expired Holds” and the timeout configured for the overall queue applies to the item.
For example, let’s say your queue timeout is set to 12 hours with an automatic “approve” decision if timeout is reached, and an additional 48 hours is set aside for holds. If you hold the item 2 hours after it is sent to your queue, and the additional 48 hours pass, it will remain in your queue for 10 more hours before it expires and the automatic decision is applied.
Holds can be applied to queue items multiple times. Additionally, held items can be escalated through Escalation Queues, and things can be held from Escalation Queues.